FDLE receives sixth national reaccreditation

Nov 19 • 311 Views • View Comments

Share Button

FDLE receives sixth national reaccreditation

JACKSONVILLE – On Saturday, Florida Department of Law Enforcement Commissioner Gerald Bailey formally accepted the department’s sixth reaccreditation award from the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) during a ceremony in Jacksonville, Fla. This marks FDLE’s seventh consecutive national accreditation award in 22 years, placing the agency in an elite category as a recipient of another Meritorious Recognition. Meritorious Recognition is awarded to agencies that have maintained accreditation for 15 or more continuous years.

Additionally, FDLE received The Accreditation with Excellence Award. The Accreditation with Excellence Award was designed to acknowledge the achievement and expertise of some of the most successful CALEA accredited agencies that meet the very specific criteria established by CALEA.

“Floridians can be confident that FDLE operational and administrative protocols are top-notch,” said FDLE Commissioner Gerald Bailey. “I am proud of our diligence in consistently maintaining these high standards.”

CALEA was created in 1979 through the combined efforts of four major law enforcement agencies-the International Association of Chiefs of Police, National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, National Sheriffs’ Association, and Police Executive Research Forum. The commission was formed to develop a set of law enforcement standards and to establish and administer an accreditation process through which law enforcement agencies could voluntarily demonstrate that they meet professionally-recognized criteria for excellence in management and service delivery.

The FDLE complied with 480 standards in order to gain reaccredited status. Since becoming accredited in 1990, the department has undergone rigorous inspections which include on-site visits, employee interviews, and extensive reviews of policies, procedures and records.

Accreditation is for a three-year period, during which time the agency must submit annual reports attesting to continued compliance with the standards under which it was initially accredited.

For Further Information Contact:
Gretl Plessinger, Keith Kameg or Steve Arthur
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001


Leave a Comment