Outstanding Florida College System Students Recognized

Apr 26 • 897 Views • View Comments

Share Button

Orlando, Fla., April 25, 2014 – Yesterday the Florida College System’s (FCS) best and brightest students were honored at an awards ceremony in Orlando. Florida College System Chancellor Randy Hanna, Florida Lottery Secretary Cynthia O’Connell, FCS Council of Presidents and members of the FCS Foundation were on hand to recognize the 109 students representing the FCS on the All-Florida Academic Team.

“The All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony is an occasion for the Florida College System to celebrate students for both academic success and service to Florida’s communities,” said Commissioner Stewart. “I congratulate these students on this important accomplishment and wish them success in future endeavors.”

The FCS annually recognizes outstanding students on the All-Florida Academic Teamfor academic achievement, leadership and community service. Colleges nominatestudents to the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by USA Today and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society. In conjunction with PTK, each year the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.

Isa Adney, author of “Community College Success” served as the keynote speaker. Adney was a recipient of the Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship while a student at Seminole State College. She is also a full-time speaker, author, host and consultant, helping students across the country break the cycle of poverty through education. Other speakers include Dr. Rod Risley, Executive Director, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society; Cynthia O’Connell, Secretary, The Florida Lottery; Mark Davis, President, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation; James Gagnon, national sales manager for education, USA TODAY; Elio DiStaola, director of public and campus relations, Follett Higher Education Group; Connie LaMarca-Frankel, coordinator, PTK-Florida Region; Dr. Jackson Sasser, President, Santa Fe College; and Dr. Ann McGee, President, Seminole State College of Florida.

In addition, 2014 is the inaugural year of the Chancellor’s Student Service Award, a contest encouraging students to submit videos highlighting community service activities designed to promote civic engagement. The Florida Lottery is sponsoring the event and the video contest.

“The Florida Lottery is proud to join in recognizing the Florida College System’s highest achieving students through the All-Florida Academic Team Awards Ceremony,” said Lottery Secretary O’Connell. “Higher education is key to ensuring the future success of Florida’s students.”

“Through the All-Florida Academic Team and Phi Theta Kappa, Florida students are provided with excellent opportunities for student leadership and development,” said FCS Chancellor Randy Hanna. “We are proud to recognize students for their many accomplishments.”

For more information, visit All-Florida Academic Team.

For more information about the Florida Department of Education, visit www.fldoe.


Leave a Comment