City of Monticello Receives Certified Local Government Designation

Jul 28 • 559 Views • View Comments

Share Button

fl dept of state header

City of Monticello Receives Certified Local Government Designation

TALLAHASSEE—Secretary of State Ken Detzner announced today that the City of Monticello has been recently designated a Florida Certified Local Government (CLG). The CLG Program is a partnership among local governments, the State of Florida and the National Park Service, which designates CLGs through the National Historic Preservation Program.

“Historic preservation has been a priority of the City of Monticello for many years,” said Secretary of State Ken Detzner. “The city employs a comprehensive approach in its preservation efforts, focusing on archaeological, environmental, and historic resources, and continues to make historic preservation an important component of the city’s economic redevelopment plan.”

The CLG program encourages the direct participation of local governments in the identification, evaluation, registration, and preservation of historic properties within their jurisdictions, and promotes the integration of local preservation interests and concerns into local planning and decision-making processes. Local governments that participate in the CLG Program act independently to develop and maintain a successful preservation program.

Established in 1827, the City of Monticello is located in the center of largely rural Jefferson County in North Florida. The city is named after Monticello, the estate of the county’s namesake, Thomas Jefferson. With a population of about 3,000, Monticello serves as the county seat and supports the surrounding agricultural district. Because of its early settlement, the city has a rich collection of 19th century buildings, many of which have been restored to their original appearance. A courthouse square with a domed courthouse dominate the center of the city, which has also been designated a Florida Main Street community. Monticello’s historic preservation efforts are directed by its seven-member Historic Design Review Board.

For more information about Florida’s Certified Local Government communities visit

About the Florida Certified Local Government Program
The Certified Local Government (CLG) program was established in 1980 by the National Park Service and is administered in Florida by the Division of Historical Resources, Florida Department of State. The CLG Program links three levels of government—federal, state and local—into a preservation partnership for the identification, evaluation, and protection of historic and archaeological resources. Florida’s CLGs (towns, cities, and counties) receive expert technical historic preservation assistance to guide them in the preservation efforts from the National Park Service, the Division of Historical Resources, and from Florida’s other CLGs. This designation also gives CLGs access to historic preservation grant assistance available solely to CLGs. In order to become a CLG, a local government must meet several requirements, the most important of which is a commitment to enforcing local and state historic preservation laws, and the establishment of a professionally qualified historic preservation board. Nationally, more than 1,880 local governments participate in the CLG program. In Florida, 63 local governments have been designated as CLG. For more information visit

CONTACT: Brittany Lesser, 850.245.6522


Leave a Comment