Ten inventors from Florida SUS institutions elected as Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Jan 13 • 2127 Views • View Comments

Share Button

Ten inventors from Florida SUS institutions elected
as Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

TALLAHASSEE–Ten academic inventors from four universities and two research institutes that are part of the State University System of Florida have been elected as 2014 Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

They include inventors from the University of Florida, University of South Florida, Florida State University, University of Central Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center and the Institute for Human & Machine Cognition. They are among the 170 academic inventors selected for induction as NAI Fellows this year and join a group that now comprises 414 fellows from more than 150 prestigious research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

“We are proud of the outstanding innovators elected as NAI Fellows from our Florida state universities and research institutes,” said Marshall Criser III, chancellor of the State University System of Florida “Their dedication to translating their research into inventions and patents is improving our state and the lives of our citizens.”

Election to NAI Fellow status is a professional distinction given to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

The 2014 NAI Fellows from Florida SUS universities and research institutes are:

Brij M. Moudgil, Distinguished Professor and Alumni Professor of Materials Science & Engineering and director, Particle Engineering Research Center and Center for Nano-Bio Sensors, University of Florida (UF)

W. Gregory Sawyer, N.C. Ebaugh Professor and Distinguished Teaching Scholar, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, UF

Janet K. Yamamoto, professor, Department of Infectious Diseases & Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine, UF

Robert H. Byrne, Distinguished University Professor, College of Marine Science, University of South Florida (USF)

Michael W. Fountain, John and Beverley Grant Endowed Chair in Entrepreneurship, Muma College of Business and professor, College of Engineering and Morsani College of Medicine, USF

Victor L. Poirier, professor, USF Institute for Advanced Discovery & Innovation, former CEO and president of Thermo Cardiosystems, and former chief technology advisor for Thoratec Corp

Thomas O. Mensah, founder, chairman and CEO of Lightwave Systems Inc., founder and president of Georgia Aerospace Manufacturing, and an NAI Fellow from Florida State University

Marwan A. Simaan, Florida 21st Century Chair and Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Central Florida 

Alain T. Rappaport, internet and software entrepreneur, co-founder and CEO of Nudgit, Inc., and member of the Science Advisory Council and Board of Directors, Institute for Human & Machine Cognition

Saïd M. Sebti, professor and chair, Drug Discovery, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

The academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers and chosen by a selection committee for their outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

The NAI Fellows will be inducted on Mar. 20, 2015, as part of the 4th Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Deputy Commissioner for Patent Operations Andrew Faile will be providing the keynote address for the induction ceremony. Fellows will be presented with a special trophy, newly designed medal, and rosette pin in honor of their outstanding accomplishments.

“We are delighted to recognize the 2014 NAI Fellows and their unparalleled commitment to excellence in academic invention,” said Dr. Paul R. Sanberg, president of the NAI, AAAS-Lemelson Invention Ambassador and senior vice president for research, innovation and economic development at the University of South Florida. “Their many discoveries have made a truly significant impact on society and we are proud to honor them for these contributions.”

Included among all the NAI Fellows are 61 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 208 members of the other National Academies (NAS, NAE, IOM), 21 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 16 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 10 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science, 21 Nobel Laureates, 11 Lemelson-MIT prize recipients, 112 AAAS Fellows, and 62 IEEE Fellows, among other awards and distinctions. Collectively, the NAI Fellows hold nearly 14,000 U.S. patents.

A complete list of NAI Fellows, including links to biographical information, is available here: http://academyofinventors.com/search-fellows.asp 

Facts about the State University System of Florida and the Board of Governors

The State University System of Florida is a constitutional body led by the 17-member Board of Governors. The system has 12 universities and more than 335,000 students, making it the second-largest public university system in the nation. Responsibilities include defining the distinctive mission of each institution and managing the system’s coordination and operation. The Board appoints a Chancellor who serves as the system’s chief executive. For more, visit www.flbog.edu.

The National Academy of Inventors® is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member organization comprised of U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutions, with over 3,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 200 institutions, and growing rapidly. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. The NAI edits the multidisciplinary journal, Technology and Innovation, published by Cognizant Communication Corporation (NY). www.academyofinventors.org

Media Contacts:
Brittany Sullivan

Lauren Maradei


Leave a Comment