Florida Constitution Revision Commission Holds Organization Meeting

Mar 20 • 1529 Views • View Comments

Share Button

Members of the 2017-2018 Florida Constitution Revision Commission (CRC) were sworn in by Chief Justice Jorge Labarga and held the Commission’s first meeting today.

Chairman Carlos Beruff, said, “Today’s organization meeting was an important first step to getting to work for Florida families. Through this Commission, even just one Floridian can change the trajectory of our state for the better. Beginning next week, we will be hitting the road to speak with Floridians and hear about the issues that matter most to our state’s citizens. Additional information on upcoming tour dates and locations will be announced soon.”

3.20.2017 CRC group photo

PHOTO (Courtesy of The Florida Senate):
Chairman Carlos Beruff (top row center) and Commissioners of the
Constitution Revision Commission met for an organization meeting
in the Florida Senate Chamber on Monday, March 20, 2017.

The Constitution Revision Commission is composed of the Attorney General, fifteen appointees from the Governor (including the Chair), nine appointees from the Florida Senate President, nine appointees from the Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives, and three appointees from the Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court.

Commissioners Appointed by Governor Rick Scott:

  • Commissioner Jose Armas
  • Commissioner Lisa Carlton
  • Commissioner Timothy Cerio
  • Commissioner Emery Gainey
  • Commissioner Brecht Heuchan
  • Commissioner Marva Johnson
  • Commissioner Darlene Jordan
  • Commissioner Fred Karlinsky
  • Commissioner Belinda Keiser
  • Commissioner Frank Kruppenbacher
  • Commissioner Gary Lester
  • Commissioner Jimmy Patronis
  • Commissioner Pam Stewart
  • Commissioner Nicole Washington

Commissioners Appointed by Florida Senate President Joe Negron:

  • Commissioner Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez
  • Commissioner Don Gaetz
  • Commissioner Patricia Levesque
  • Commissioner Sherry Plymale
  • Commissioner Bill Schifino Jr.
  • Commissioner Chris Smith
  • Commissioner Bob Solari
  • Commissioner Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch
  • Commissioner Carolyn Timmann

Commissioners Appointed by Florida House Speaker Richard Corcoran:

  • Commissioner Jose Felix Diaz
  • Commissioner Erika Donalds
  • Commissioner Tom Lee
  • Commissioner Rich Newsome
  • Commissioner Chris Nocco
  • Commissioner Jeanette Nuñez
  • Commissioner Darryl Rouson
  • Commissioner Chris Sprowls
  • Commissioner John Stemberger

Commissioners Appointed by Chief Justice Jorge Labarga:

  • Commissioner Hank Coxe
  • Commissioner Arthenia Joyner
  • Commissioner Roberto Martinez

Once every twenty years, Florida’s Constitution provides for the creation of a thirty-seven member revision commission for the purpose of reviewing Florida’s Constitution and proposing changes for voter consideration. The Commission meets for approximately one year, traveling the State of Florida, identifying issues, performing research, and possibly recommending changes to the Constitution. Any amendments proposed by the Commission would be placed on the 2018 General Election ballot. For additional information, visit FLCRC.GOV. Follow the Commission on Twitter @FloridaCRC.


Leave a Comment