Three Names Given to Governor for Secretary of Florida Department of Transportation

May 17 • 1463 Views • View Comments

Share Button

Richard M. Biter, Michael J. Dew, and Ronald S. Howse, P.E./P.S.M.

The Florida Transportation Commission today nominated three candidates for Governor Scott’s consideration for the position of Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation, pursuant to section 20.23 (1)(a), Florida Statutes. The nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Richard M. Biter, former assistant secretary of Intermodal Systems Development, Florida Department of Transportation;
  • Michael J. Dew, chief of staff, Florida Department of Transportation; and,
  • Ronald S. Howse, P.E./P.S.M., commissioner, Florida Transportation Commission.

The Commission received resumes from 127 applicants, all of which were reviewed by the staff and Commissioners. The Commission met by teleconference on Thursday, May 4th where twelve candidates were discussed and it was determined that five finalists should be invited for an interview. On Thursday, May 11th, the Commission conducted interviews with five candidates in a meeting open to the public via GoToWebinar.

The nationwide search included advertising the position on LinkedIn,, several national engineering association sites, and notified all state transportation departments through the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials as well as contacting many state and national trade organizations.

On Monday, January 23, Governor Rick Scott announced the resignation of Secretary Jim Boxold, who began his appointment on January 3, 2015, effective February 3, 2017. Assistant Secretary for Finance and Administration Rachel Cone has been serving as Interim Secretary since that date.

The Florida Transportation Commission is an appointed body that provides performance and fiscal oversight of the FDOT, and makes transportation policy recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature.


Leave a Comment