Florida Department of Transportation Announces Crossing Guard Appreciation Day and Award Winners

Feb 2 • 279 Views • View Comments

Share Button

 Florida Department of Transportation’s (FDOT) Safety Office announces Friday, February 2, 2018, as Crossing Guard Appreciation Day to recognize the hard work and dedication of those individuals who keep Florida’s schoolchildren safe as they go to and from school. FDOT works with law enforcement agencies and provides standards and uniform training across the state to ensure the safety and effectiveness of the program.

Florida Department of Transportation Secretary Mike Dew said, “Florida’s schoolchildren are safer because of the work our crossing guards do each day.  Today we honor their service in protecting Florida’s most valuable resource as they bike and walk to school.” 

Every year the department recognizes individuals and organizations exemplifying professionalism and responsibility for the safety of children.

  2017 Florida School Crossing Guards of the Year:

Collier County Sheriff’s Office

  • Becky Beatty

 Pasco County Sheriff’s Office 

  • Donald Niles 


 2017 Florida School Crossing Guard of the Year Extra Mile Award:

Seminole County Sheriff’s Office

  • Robert Beltzer


2017 School Crossing Guard Programs of the Year:

  • Clearwater Police Department (Large Agency)
  • Seminole County Sheriff’s Office (Medium Agency)

Florida is a national leader in developing crossing guard uniform training guidelines and curriculum. FDOT is dedicated to providing a train-the-trainer program to educate trainers on the safe and effective techniques and crossing procedures used by crossing guards.

Governor Rick Scott issued a proclamation of appreciation. Click here to access the proclamation. 



Leave a Comment